Eve

After my Il Mulino flop, I was reluctant to try my second restaurant week endeavor, Eve. Hidden on the quiet part of Rush Street, it took us a drive-by or two to locate it, but find it we did. Upon entrance, the hostess did not seem to be in a good mood, as her conversation consisted of short questions, and monosyllabic responses. However, we were sat in a cozy little table for two. With dim lights and intimate tables, it seemed a very romantic spot, but the crowd was made up of mostly groups of girls and families, which I found surprising, but then again, I can’t talk as I was there with my Mom.

For the first course, I had the Maine Lobster Bisque with green papaya, pineapple, and vanilla emulsion. To be frank, it was the weirdest lobster bisque I’ve ever had. I am used to a lobster bisque with more zest. Now this had flavor, but it was off. I’m blaming the vanilla emulsion. Instead, I would have liked to taste more citrus, as well as some onions or chives. My Mom had the dukkah crusted laughing bird shrimp, with Belgian endive, and an aioli sauce. This was a lot better, with much more flavor.

For entrees, we both got the green curry short ribs with baby bok choy, sunchokes, and pickled daikon. It was extremely tender, and the sauce had a little bite to it, which I always appreciate.

Eve saved the best for last. My Mom and I both can’t resist any form of chocolate, so we both also got the chocolate peanut butter Pot de Crème with peanut brittle. This thing was like heaven in a jar… chocolate peanut butter mousse topped with cream. What isn’t there to like?

Though my last course was a phenomenal end, I’m really quite ambivalent about this place. Overall, it’s good, but not great. A B+, but just out of A range. I concluded that this is because I could have gotten the same experience at Eve in many other restaurants in Chicago. There’s nothing that sets it apart. I wouldn’t be opposed to going back on a non-restaurant week evening, but there are many other places I’d rather go. Eve needs to step it up on the wow factor. If it does, I’d be happy to give it another go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a comment