III Forks

One of my cousins came into town last week, and since I rarely see my father’s side of the family, I jumped at the chance to go to dinner with her and her bf, and his brother. She had made a reservation at III forks, which I had never heard of, but was game to try. According to the concierge at her hotel, it was the new and happening steak house in Lakeshore East. Man, but that place is hard to find. My cab driver didn’t even know how to get there. Eventually, navigating the complicated maze that is Lakeshore East, and thanks to Google Maps, we found it. It is your typical restaurant you usually see in that area, located on the bottom floor of a tall high rise, with plenty of glass, a long bar, and wine bottles stacked in glass casings everywhere. We were sat at the back of the restaurant, right next to a narrow, open fire pit. Really, this place was exactly designed like Cantina Laredo, and though a much different cuisine, paralleled Cantina in it’s mediocrity on food. Sadly, the best part of the meal was the delicious round loaf of bread and butter (we devoured two.) I of course, ordered a filet mignon medium rare as did my cousin, and we shared a side of asparagus. Though it seemed to be cooked correctly, the steak itself was not as tender as it could have been, and the flavor was just so-so. The asparagus was fine, but really, how can you mess up asparagus? My cousin’s boyfriend, Greg,  had a salmon special with a blueberry sauce which seemed interesting, but he too, was unimpressed. I find myself very fortunate that Greg insisted on footing the bill for the four of us. III Forks is three times the price it should be for the meal you get. You are paying for your location. And that’s it. The next day, Mama Finch and I went to Wildfire which is a heck of a lot cheaper, and an infinitely better meal (I shall be writing about that next.) III Forks is mediocre at best. Service is good, food is eh. 1.5 out of 5 spoons.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a Reply

