The Gage

In 2011, I went to at least three eateries for Restaurant Week that I can remember. There may have been a couple more, but as I am updating one year later, I wouldn’t be surprised if a few have slipped my mind. Out of the three that I can recall, two were good, and one was no bueno. And that no bueno was The Gage. Though many a friend had insisted it was very tasty, and I was very excited to try it, I was less than pleased.

We of course ordered off of the Restaurant Week menu with poor results, the most amusing being my friend Jamie’s beet risotto. She herself regretted the order, as she was not so fond of beets. And then it came and looked like blood on a plate. Not very appetizing, and according to her, not very tasty either. I had some sort of soup and beef combination, as everyone around me was ordering salad and fish, and wanted to try something new. It was okay. Certainly nothing as what I was expecting for having heard such rave reviews.

I am willing to go back, however, as I am literally the only person I know who has tried it during Restaurant Week, and decidedly disliked it.  I suppose it deserves another go. Seriously, I really don’t get why some well-established restaurants just cannot get their ish together for restaurant week. You are making the same thing over and over again? Shouldn’t it be perfected? Perhaps I’m too fastidious. In either case, until I return, The Gage is 2 out of 5 spoons.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a Reply

